Which Services Need to be Registered with the CQC

Which Services Need to be Registered with the CQC?

CQC Guides, Health and Social Care Blog

Care Learning

2 mins READ

The Care Quality Commission (CQC) is the independent regulator of health and social care services in England. It ensures that the services provided meet the required standards of safety and quality.

Understanding which services need to be CQC registered is essential for any provider offering healthcare or social care services.

Here is a detailed guide on the services that require CQC registration:

1. Hospitals

This includes:

  • NHS Trusts
  • Private hospitals
  • Specialist clinics that also provide treatment requiring sedation or anaesthetics.

2. General Practitioners (GPs) and Doctors

This category includes:

  • GP practices
  • Walk-in centres
  • Out-of-hours services
  • GP-led health centres

3. Dentists

Includes all dental care providers, such as:

  • NHS dentists
  • Private dental practices
  • Specialist dental clinics

4. Ambulance Services

This encompasses:

  • NHS ambulance services
  • Private ambulance services
  • Some first responder services

5. Care Homes


  • Residential care homes
  • Nursing homes
  • Care homes providing nursing or residential support for people with disabilities, mental health issues, or substance misuse problems.

6. Home Care Agencies

These provide care and support for people living in their own homes, including:

7. Community Care

This includes an array of services, such as:

  • Community healthcare services
  • Mental health services
  • Services for people with learning disabilities
  • Rehabilitation services provided in a community setting

8. Mental Health Services

These services include:

  • Mental health clinics
  • Rehabilitation units
  • Any service treating individuals with mental health conditions

9. Substance Misuse Services

It includes:

  • Detoxification services
  • Rehabilitation services
  • Counselling and support services

10. Diagnostic and Screening Services

This section includes:

  • Diagnostic imaging services (such as X-rays and MRIs)
  • Mobile diagnostic units
  • Health screening services

11. Clinics

A broad category, this includes:

  • Sexual health clinics
  • Fertility clinics
  • Laser eye surgery clinics
  • Other specialist clinics providing invasive treatments

12. Hospice Services

These provide end-of-life care including:

  • Adult hospices
  • Children’s hospices

13. Other Healthcare Services

This might include:

  • Blood and transplantation services
  • Military healthcare services
  • Services not covered explicitly under other categories but where medical, diagnostic, or treatment services are provided.

Registration Process

To register with the CQC, providers need to:

  • Complete an application form providing details about the services offered, locations, and the responsible individuals.
  • Demonstrate how their services meet the fundamental standards of quality and safety as outlined by the CQC.
  • Pay the applicable registration fee.
  • Undergo an inspection by CQC inspectors to verify compliance with required standards.

Ongoing Compliance

Once registered, services must:

  • Comply with the fundamental standards of care.
  • Notify the CQC of significant events or changes in their service delivery.
  • Undergo regular inspections and reviews.


Any provider operating within these categories in England must seek CQC registration to lawfully deliver their services. Being registered not only complies with legal requirements but also assures the public of the safety and quality of the healthcare or social care provided.

Always check the latest regulations on the CQC’s official website or consult directly with the CQC to ensure compliance.

This guide helps health and social care providers understand their obligations towards registration and maintaining standards to ensure that their service remains credible, safe, and of high quality to all service users.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

You cannot copy content of this page